Athletics

Team Pages & Upcoming Games



Team Pages

Select your team from this list to view team overview information, rosters, coach information, and schedules of games and practices.




How to Sign Up for Athletic Event Alerts

Setting up your mobile phone for Text Alerts

To receive text messages from Thayer you need to activate your cell phone first – to confirm your phone number and to acknowledge that you will be charged for the messages by your cell phone provider (AT&T, Verizon, etc.) according to your billing plan.

  1. Log in to your account by navigating to the top of the website and clicking on your section in the gray bar.
  2. When the login screen appears, enter your user name and password.
  3. Hover over your name at the top right of the screen and a dropdown menu will appear. Click Profile and check to see if your mobile number is listed. If there is no mobile number in your record, click on Add a Phone Number.
  4. From the dropdown menu, select Mobile Phone, then enter your number, scroll down and click Update Profile.
  5. Click on the pencil icon next to your phone number, and click Enable Text Message.
  6. Select your mobile carrier from the drop down menu, then scroll down and click the Update Profile button.
  7. Click the red Verify link, then click the red Request Code link to send a verification code to your cell phone via text.
  8. Enter that code and click Verify.
Sign up for Athletics Text Alerts for individual teams
  1. While you're still logged in, go to the Athletics Schedule.
  2. Click on the gold bell icon at the top right of the page.
  3. Select the team you want and click on Alerts.
  4. Under Manage Team Subscription, select whether you want to be alerted by email or phone (text).
  5. Select whether you want...
    1. A reminder before each game
    2. An alert when there are cancellations, postponements, or changes
    3. An alert giving scores when they are posted.
  6. Click on Update Settings.
Pull an Athletics team schedule into your Calendar app
  1. While you're still logged in, go to the Athletics Schedule or your Team Page.
  2. Click on the gray RSS icon at the top right of the page.
  3. Select the team you want and click on the green "iCal" button.
  4. Click "Add to your default Calendar app".

 

Add a button on your Home Screen to directly access a Team Page (instructions for iOS/iPhone)
  1. Open up Safari and navigate to the webpage. You may choose the Teams, Schedules and Results page to be able to access all teams from the same Home Screen button, or you can create separate Home screen Buttons for each team you would like to access (here is Varsity Football's team page as an example.
  2. At the bottom of the screen, tap the icon of a square with an up arrow. Scroll through the action options and tap on "Add to Home Screen".
  3. Type a name for your Home Screen button (i.e. "Thayer Teams" or "Varsity Football") and save.
  4. The button will appear on your Home Screen and now you can tap it to go directly to that page.

 

Upcoming Games

Forms

IMPACT Testing

Pre-Season Requirements for Participation in Athletics

In order to play team sports, each athlete must do two things before the first tryout date:

  1. Take the ImPACT* to get a baseline reading, which will be kept on file.
  2. Submit all medical forms to School Nurse Kathy Cunningham (kcunningham@thayer.org).

ImPACT (Immediate Post Concussion Assessment & Cognitive Test)

All student athletes must take the computerized ImPACT before the first tryout date or they cannot compete.

The test can be taken on a home computer. It usually takes about 20 minutes to complete, and the results are submitted to Thayer electronically. This is a simple cognitive assessment that effectively helps Thayer's athletic trainers to...

  • Objectively measure the existence and severity of a concussion (if an athlete should sustain a head injury of any kind)
  • Determine when a student-athlete can safely return to play

Before beginning the ImPACT, you should...

  • Have access to a computer with an external mouse. You have to use a desktop computer, not a laptop because TouchPad and TrackPoint mice don't work for this test.
  • Close out of all applications except ImPACT and your Internet browser.
  • Turn off the pop-up blocker in your Internet browser - the test will not launch if the pop-up blocker is on. (Also make sure to turn the pop-up blocker back on when you are finished.)
  • Settle into an environment free of noise and other distractions. You will need to concentrate and exercise your memory. So...

    • No Talking
    • No cell phones
    • No sound on the computer

Note: Students should be supervised by a parent when taking the test.

Steps to begin the test

  1. Launch the baseline test at www.impacttestonline.com/sportsconcussionnewengland
  2. Insert the Customer ID Code: 94348cf120 (case sensitive).
  3. Choose the language to take the test in (English).
  4. From the PULL down menu select Thayer Academy.
  5. Note: # of years completed in school = your year in September minus 1. (So if you're entering 9th grade in September the number of years you've completed is 8.)

If you have questions about the ImPACT, please contact Head Athletic Trainer Ellen Malloy (emalloy@thayer.org / 781.664.2273).

Waiver forms for Off-Campus Athletics

Tryout & Practice Info

Upcoming Athletics Events

No Middle School Sports

Contact: 781.380.0513

Optional Upper School Varsity Practices, No Sub Varsity Practices

Contact: Brad Peterson '11 bpeterson@thayer.org

Varsity Team Holiday Tournaments Subscribe to Alerts

Contact: Brad Peterson '11 bpeterson@thayer.org

Varsity Team Holiday Tournaments Subscribe to Alerts

Contact: Brad Peterson '11 bpeterson@thayer.org

Upper School Pre-Season Tryout Week Schedule

Thursday, Sept 1
Varsity Field Hockey (tryouts)9-11am & 2-4pmSouth Athletic Campus
Varsity Boys' Soccer (tryouts)9-11am & 2-4pm

South Athletic Campus
Varsity Volleyball (tryouts)9-11am & 2-4pmAlumni Gym
Friday, Sept 2
All Football 9-11am & 2-4pmMain Campus/ Football Field
Varsity Field Hockey (tryouts)9-11am & 2-4pm

South Athletic Campus
Varsity Boys’ Soccer (tryouts)9-11am & 2-4pmSouth Athletic Campus
Varsity Girls’ Soccer (tryouts)

9-11am & 2-4pm

South Athletic Campus

Boys & Girls Cross-country 9-11amMain Campus
Varsity Volleyball (tryouts)

9-11am & 2-4pmAlumni Gym
Saturday, Sept 3
All Football 9-11am & 2-4pmMain Campus/ Football Field
Varsity Girls' Soccer (tryouts)10am-12pm & 2-4pm

South Athletic Campus
Varsity Girls' Soccer (scrimmage)10:00am vs. ScituateSouth Athletic Campus
Boys & Girls Cross-Country

9-11am

Main Campus

Sept 4, 5, 6
NO SPORTS

Wednesday, Sept 7
All Football 4:30-6:30pmMain Campus/ Football Field
Varsity/JV Field Hockey (tryouts)4:30-6:30pm

Main Campus/ Turf
Varsity/JV Boys’ Soccer (tryouts)4:30-6:30pmMain Campus/ Turf
Varsity/JV Girls’ Soccer (tryouts)

4:30-6:30pm

South Athletic Campus

All Cross-Country 4:30-6:30pmMain Campus
Varsity/JV Volleyball (tryouts)

4:30-6:30pmAlumni Gym
Crew- instructional (dryland training)

4:30-5:30pmTiger's Den
Tennis- instructional

4:30-5:30pmTennis Courts
Thursday, Sept 8
*1st Day of Middle School Sports 2:15-3:30pmMain Campus Fields
All Football 3:30-5:30pmMain Campus/ Football Field
Varsity/JV Field Hockey (tryouts)3:45-5:45pm

South Athletic Campus
Varsity/JV Boys’ Soccer (tryouts)3:30-5:30pmMain Campus/ Turf
Varsity/JV Girls’ Soccer (tryouts)

3:30-5:30pm

Main Campus/ Turf

All Cross-Country 3:30-5:30pmMain Campus
Varsity/JV Volleyball (tryouts)

3:30-5:30pmAlumni Gym
Crew- instructional (dryland training)

3:30-4:30pmTiger's Den
Tennis- instructional

3:30-4:30pmTennis Courts
Friday, Sept 9
All Football 3:30-5:30pmMain Campus/ Football Field
Varsity/JV Field Hockey (tryouts)3:30-5:45pm

Main Campus/ Turf
Varsity/JV Boys’ Soccer (tryouts)3:45-5:30pmSouth Athletic Campus
Varsity/JV Girls’ Soccer (tryouts)

3:30-5:30pm

Main Campus/ Turf

All Cross-Country 3:30-5pmMain Campus
Varsity/JV Volleyball (tryouts)

3:30-5:30pmAlumni Gym
Crew- instructional (dryland training)

3:30-4:30pmTiger's Den
Tennis- instructional

3:30-4:30pmTennis Courts
Saturday, Sept 10
All Football 9:30am-12:30pmMain Campus/ Football Field
Varsity Field Hockey9:30am-12:30pm

Main Campus/ Turf
Varsity Boys’ Soccer (scrimmage)9:30am-12:30pmMain Campus/ Turf
Varsity Girls’ Soccer (scrimmage)

2pm @ Tabor

Tabor

All Cross-Country 9:30-11amMain Campus
Varsity Volleyball

9:30am-12:30pmAlumni Gym

Athletic Department Staff

Athletic Department Staff & Coaches Contact Information

You can also find all coaches' contact information on each team's page.

 

Athletic Department Staff                                                                                                                          
Athletic Director Rick Foresteire P '19, '21 rforesteire@thayer.org    781.664.2247
Middle School Athletic Director   John Reid jreid@thayer.org 781.664.2289
Associate Athletic Director Kristin Parnell kparnell@thayer.org 781.664.2246
Assistant Athletic Director Brad Peterson '11 bpeterson@thayer.org 781.664.2327
Head Athletic Trainer Ellen Malloy emalloy@thayer.org 781.664.2273
Athletic Trainer Garett Butkuss gbutkuss@thayer.org 781.664.2244
Athletic Trainer Anne Lally alally@thayer.org 781.664.2250
Equipment Manager AnnMarie Leonard P '03, '06   aleonard@thayer.org 781.664.2234
Strength & Conditioning Coach Sophie Browne '04 sbrowne@thayer.org 781.664.2245

 

Fall Sports - Upper School Coaches / After School Activities  
Football Jeff Toussaint '82 jtoussaint@thayer.org        781.664.2333   
Field Hockey Nate Coolidge ncoolidge@thayer.org   781.664.2327  
Boys' Soccer Jim Felix jfelix@thayer.org 781.664.2327  
Girls' Soccer Nick Rugnetta '07 nrugnetta@thayer.org 781.664.2327  
Boys' Cross Country Joe Pelletier jpelletier@thayer.org 781.664.2228  
Girls' Cross Country Jeff Browne P '04, '05      jbrowne@thayer.org 781.664.2237  
Volleyball Christopher Allen callen@thayer.org 781.664.2233  
Crew - Instructional Emma Taylor '12 etaylor@thayer.org 781.664.2335  
Tennis - Instructional Betsy Bloom bbloom@thayer.org 781.664.2217  
Strength & Conditioning      Sophie Browne '04 sbrowne@thayer.org 781.664.2245  
Managing Kristin Parnell kparnell@thayer.org 781.664.2246  

 

Winter Sports - Upper School Coaches
Boys' Hockey Tony Amonte '89, P '16, '18, '19, '23    aamonte@thayer.org 781.664.2505 
Girls' Hockey Brian Cibelli bcibelli@thayer.org 781.664.2326
Boys' Basketball Brandon Odom '04 bodom@thayer.org 781.664.2229
Girls' Basketball William O'Dwyer '02 wodwyer@thayer.org 781.664.2332
Co-Ed Skiing Bryan Morrissey
Heidi Brown
bmorrissey@lmhspc.com   
hbrown@thayer.org 
 
781.664.2208
Co-Ed Wrestling Brian Conrad bconrad@thayer.org 781.664.2327
Co-Ed Swimming   Samantha Taylor smtaylor029@gmail.com 781.664.2287
Co-Ed Diving Brooks Donnelly bdonnelly@thayer.org 781.664.2287
Gymnastics Joan McDonough jog1983@comcast.net  

 

Spring Sports - Upper School Coaches
Baseball Rick Foresteire P '19, '21     rforesteire@thayer.org 781.664.2247 
Softball Laura McDonough lmcd326@gmail.com 781.664.2327
Boys' Lacrosse Ben Rubeor  brubeor@thayer.org 781.664.1618
Girls' Lacrosse Anni Zukauskas '94 azukauskas@thayer.org 781.664.2295
Co-Ed Track & Field     Jeff Browne P '04, '05 jbrowne@thayer.org 781.664.2237
Co-Ed Crew Emma Taylor '12 etaylor@thayer.org 781.664.2335
Girls' Tennis Cathy Turpel cturpel@thayer.org 781.664.2255
Boys' Tennis Mike Davis madgali2000@yahoo.com    781.883.9044
Co-Ed Golf Jamie Bourque jbourque@thayer.org 781.664.2285