Travel Programs

Traveling to other countries embodies the mission of Thayer Academy, as it enriches the educational experience for all who participate. Along with a fresh outlook on their own education, students report a marked growth in self-confidence, an overall increase in sophistication, and a degree of language acquisition far exceeding what is possible in the classroom alone. Further value accrues to the larger Thayer community when we welcome onto our campus and into our homes students and faculty from Thayer Academy’s sister schools.

Upper School Programs

Exchange Programs

The need for true global citizenship is more important than ever. For many, the first chance to sample cultural differences comes through a student exchange program. To that end, Thayer has cultivated a rich set of sister-school exchanges, some of which grow out of our foreign language instruction. In this way, the Academy and its students develop long-term relationships with schools and students in other countries. These programs include visits to Thayer by foreign students. If you and your family are interested in hosting one of our guests from abroad, please contact Darah Smoot Harper (dharper@thayer.org / 781.664.2213).

Wei Yu High School - Shanghai, China
  • Offered every year in May as a Senior Project opportunity. Students from China visit Thayer in the fall.
  • Faculty Contact: Jenn Welch, Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion and Director of International Student Enrollment 
    (jwelch@thayer.org / 781.664.2219)

Lycée Stanislas - Cannes, France

CHIREC School - Hyderabad, India
  • Offered every year in December/January. Students from India usually visit Thayer in the fall.
  • Open to all Upper School students.
  • Faculty Contact: Darah Smoot Harper, Director of International Exchange Programs (dharper@thayer.org / 781.664.2213)

     

Spain - Madrid, Toledo, the Galicia region in the city of Vigo
  • Offered every other year in June. Students from Galicia visit Thayer for 4 weeks in the summer, typically from end of June to end of July.
  • Open to all Upper School students who have completed 2 years of a language.
  • Faculty Contact: Marc Rando, Foreign Language Department Head (mrando@thayer.org / 781.664.2283)

Travel Programs with a Service Component

Peru - Cusco & Ollantaytambo
  • Offered every year in May as a Senior Project opportunity.
  • Open to all seniors.
  • Faculty Contact: Terri Lukens, Upper School Spanish Teacher (tlukens@thayer.org / 781.664.2269)

Students Shoulder-to-Shoulder - Various Destinations
  • Offered every summer.
  • Domestic travel programs open to 8th graders; domestic and international programs open to freshmen, sophomores, and juniors.
  • Faculty Contact: Erica Archabal (earchabal@thayer.org / 781.664.2202)

The Dominican Republic
  • Offered every other year in March.
  • Open to Upper School students studying Spanish.
  • Faculty Contact: Gloria Blanco, Upper School Spanish Teacher (gblanco@thayer.org / 781.664.2321)

Study Abroad Programs

The Ancient World - Greece
  • Offered every year in May as a Senior Project opportunity.
  • Open to all seniors.
  • Faculty Contact: Callie Schneider, Upper School Latin Teacher (cschneider@thayer.org / 781.664.2233)

Marine Science - Bahamas
  • Offered every year in May as a Senior Project opportunity.
  • Open to all seniors.
  • Faculty Contact: Don Donovan, Upper School Science Faculty (ddonovan@thayer.org / 781.664.2216)

Artists in Residence - Cortona, Italy
  • Offered every other year in June.
  • Offered to students in all grade levels, 9-12.
  • Faculty Contact: Karen Koskores. Upper School Painting & Drawing Teacher (kkoskores@thayer.org / 781.664.2240)

Middle School Programs

La Culture Québécoise
  • Offered every other year in June.
  • Open to rising 8th and 9th grade students of French.
  • Faculty Contact: Angela Toussaint, Middle School Foreign Language Department Head (atoussaint@thayer.org / 781.664.2320)

For More Information

To learn more about Thayer Academy's travel programs, please contact:

Darah Smoot Harper
Upper School French Teacher and Director of International Exchange Programs

781.664.2213

dharper@thayer.org

Contact

Darah Harper

Darah Harper

Upper School Foreign Language Faculty, Director of Director of International Exchange Programs

Regan O'Donnell"I’m an adventurous person and I love to travel, and Thayer’s had a big part in that. When I graduate, I will have gone on three trips through Thayer: the Dominican Republic, Spain, and China." - Regan O'Donnell '16