Thayer Academy Parent Association

Welcome!

Meetings and Events

TAPA 2018-19 Meetings

TAPA hosts three school-wide general meetings each year. These meetings take place in the fall, winter and spring semesters. We invite all parents to attend and experience our interactive meetings with timely topics and relevant speakers.

TAPA First Friday Coffee with Thayer's Athletics Department & Communications Team
Fri, September 7, 2018, 8-9:30am
Center for the Arts Lobby (CFA)

Unguarded: A Conversation with Chris Herren 
Thu, October 11, 2018, 10-11am
Livestreamed for Parents to the Tiger's Den, Cahall Student Center

Chris Herren was a professional basketball player, who also struggled with substance abuse. He spoke four years ago at Thayer, and his inspirational story was well received by the Upper School students. We do not want parents to miss this opportunity! Chris’s presentation to the 7th and 8th graders, as well as the Upper School students, will be livestreamed to the Tiger’s Den for parents to hear. Chris’s presentation has been designed for school assemblies and community groups, with the focus of relating his story to school-aged audiences nationwide. Following a DVD highlighting his basketball career and journey to sobriety, Chris will touch on such topics as drunk driving, gateway drugs, peer pressure, bullying and cutting. Additionally, Chris will share statistics of drug and alcohol use amongst teens nationwide. Please note:  The Q&A component of this presentation will be kept private for the students, and will not be livestreamed to the Tiger's Den. 

Two-Part Series on Identifying & Understanding Anxiety sponsored by TAPA

Screenings of Angst
Tue, February 26, 2019
Two screening opportunities for parents!
Thompson Hall: 8 - 9:30am
Hale Theater, CFA: 7 - 8:30pm 

A film that explores anxiety, its causes, effects and what we can do about it. The Middle and Upper Schools will host student screenings this same week during the school day. Parents of both Middle School and Upper School students are invited to attend either screening.

Lynn Lyons, LICSW - Anxious Kids, Anxious Parents: Strategies to Interrupt the Worry Cycle
Thu, April 11, 2019 7-9pm
Hale Theater, Center for the Arts

Lynn Lyons is a licensed clinical social worker and psychotherapist, who has been in private practice for 28 years. Lynn specializes in the treatment of anxiety disorders in adults and children. She travels globally as a speaker and trainer on the subject of anxiety, its role in families, and the need for a preventative approach at home and in schools. Lynn’s presentation “Anxious Kids, Anxious Parents: Strategies to Interrupt the Worry Cycle” will discuss how anxiety in many children has a generational link, with patterns of worry and anxiety being passed from parents to children. But what parents (and other adults) often intuitively do to help anxious children actually serves to strengthen these patterns. Lynn addresses these patterns head on, and equips families with an alternative approach that focuses on active engagement over avoidant behavior.

Coffees with the Directors (sponsored by TAPA)

Upper School Coffees with Highley Thompson
8:15 - 9am, CFA Lobby
Wed, September 26, 2018
Wed, April 3, 2019

Middle School Coffees with Carson Smith
8:15 - 9am, Middle School Library
Wed, October 3, 2018
Wed, January 30, 2019
Wed, April 24, 2019 

Community Events

Homecoming
Saturday, October 13, 2018

Homecoming is Thayer’s most spirited and highly anticipated annual on-campus tradition that displays Thayer’s fall sports teams from the Upper School. It is a day for all Thayer Academy families, alumni, and faculty to come together and celebrate. In addition to the athletic events, activities planned by Thayer’s parents will include carnival games, a petting zoo, face painting and a bake sale. Thayer merchandise exclusively ordered for Homecoming will also be on sale. Parents can volunteer in many different ways to prepare for Homecoming and can volunteer to help on the day of the event.


25th Annual General’s Open Golf Tournament & Tennis Event
Monday, May 13, 2019

The 25th Annual General's Open Golf Tournament & Tennis Event will take place at Black Rock Country Club in Hingham. The funds raised for the 2019 General's Open will be directed to Thayer's financial aid program. Parents, alumni, and friends will participate in what promises to be a day filled with cordial competition both on the court and course, as well as delicious lunch and reception menus, great silent auction items, and a lively post-golf cocktail reception.

Save the Date

Upcoming TAPA Events

TAPA Calendar (full, monthly view)

To subscribe to a calendar in your calendar app (Google Calendar, iCal, etc):

  1. Click on the gray RSS icon at the top right of the calendar.
  2. Select the calendar you want and click on the green "iCal" button.
  3. Click "Add to your default Calendar app".
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Sep 30
Mon, Oct 1
Tue, Oct 2
Wed, Oct 3
Coffee with the MS Director
-
Thu, Oct 4
Fri, Oct 5
Sat, Oct 6
Sun, Oct 7
Mon, Oct 8
Tue, Oct 9
Wed, Oct 10
Thu, Oct 11
Unguarded: A Conversation with Chris Herren CHANGED: Updated to 10/11
-
Memorial Gym (Students), Tiger's Den (Parents)
Fri, Oct 12
Sat, Oct 13
Sun, Oct 14
Mon, Oct 15
Tue, Oct 16
Informal 5th Grade Parent Coffee
Panera Bread, 400 Franklin Street, Braintree
Wed, Oct 17
Thu, Oct 18
Fri, Oct 19
Sat, Oct 20
Sun, Oct 21
Mon, Oct 22
Tue, Oct 23
Wed, Oct 24
Subscribe to Alerts Informal 6th Grade Parent Coffee
Panera Bread, 400 Franklin Street, Braintree
Thu, Oct 25
Subscribe to Alerts Grade 9 Parent Social
Southworth Library
Fri, Oct 26
Sat, Oct 27
Sun, Oct 28
Mon, Oct 29
Tue, Oct 30
Subscribe to Alerts Informal 7th Grade Parent Coffee
Panera Bread, 400 Franklin Street, Braintree
Wed, Oct 31
Thu, Nov 1
Fri, Nov 2
Subscribe to Alerts Informal 8th Grade Parent Coffee
Panera Bread, 400 Franklin Street, Braintree
Sat, Nov 3

The Parents' Independent School Network (PIN)

The Parents' Independent School Network (PIN)

What is PIN? The Parents’ Independent School Network, Inc. (PIN) is a volunteer group of parents with children who are students at New England-area independent elementary and secondary schools. PIN was formed to help parents share ideas and promote worthy programs at these independent schools.

What are PIN's goals? 

  • To discuss topics of mutual concern
  • To share ideas and practices which have benefited member schools and their students
  • To sponsor educational events
  • To support and foster PIN member schools’ community service programs
  • To encourage each representative to work closely with his or her school and the school’s parent organization to disseminate ideas and information learned from the meetings
  • To share information through our Community Bulletin Board about upcoming PIN member school events open to the public

How do you become a member? Since your child is student at Thayer, you are already a member of PIN! Thayer's Parent Assocation, TAPA, pays the PIN dues each year, so all parents may benefit from the parent education programming that PIN organizes. 

When are the PIN meetings during the school school year? To see this school year's programming schedule for parents, click here for the Middle School schedule and click here for the Upper School schedule

What is a PIN representative? One or two parent representatives from each member school attend five meetings each year. These PIN Reps serve as the conduit between the diverse school communities. At PIN meetings, Reps gather to share information about topics relating to non-academic issues, listening to speakers and panels, and participating in discussion groups. Thayer's PIN reps. will then report the information they learned back to Thayer, and these notes are published in TNN to share with the parent community.

Who are Thayer's PIN Representatives? 
Middle School: Eileen McCormack P '21, '23, Kerri Coughlin P '24, '26
Upper School: Mamie Marcus P '20, Rebecca King P '16, '17, '20