Athletics

Team Pages & Upcoming Games



Team Pages

Select your team from this list to view team overview information, rosters, coach information, and schedules of games and practices.


Helpful Links



Upcoming Games

Forms

IMPACT Testing

Pre-Season Requirements for Participation in Athletics

In order to play team sports, each athlete must do two things before the first tryout date:

  1. Take the ImPACT* to get a baseline reading, which will be kept on file.
  2. Submit all medical forms to School Nurse Kathy Cunningham (kcunningham@thayer.org).

ImPACT (Immediate Post Concussion Assessment & Cognitive Test)

All student athletes must take the computerized ImPACT before the first tryout date or they cannot compete.

The test can be taken on a home computer. It usually takes about 20 minutes to complete, and the results are submitted to Thayer electronically. This is a simple cognitive assessment that effectively helps Thayer's athletic trainers to...

  • Objectively measure the existence and severity of a concussion (if an athlete should sustain a head injury of any kind)
  • Determine when a student-athlete can safely return to play

Before beginning the ImPACT, you should...

  • Have access to a computer with an external mouse. You have to use a desktop computer, not a laptop because TouchPad and TrackPoint mice don't work for this test.
  • Close out of all applications except ImPACT and your Internet browser.
  • Turn off the pop-up blocker in your Internet browser - the test will not launch if the pop-up blocker is on. (Also make sure to turn the pop-up blocker back on when you are finished.)
  • Settle into an environment free of noise and other distractions. You will need to concentrate and exercise your memory. So...

    • No Talking
    • No cell phones
    • No sound on the computer

Note: Students should be supervised by a parent when taking the test.

Steps to begin the test

  1. Launch the baseline test at https://www.impacttestonline.com/htmllauncher/
  2. Insert the Customer ID Code: E44CVM3UES (case sensitive).
  3. Choose the language to take the test in (English).
  4. From the PULL down menu select Thayer Academy.
  5. Note: # of years completed in school = your year in September minus 1. (So if you're entering 9th grade in September the number of years you've completed is 8.)

If you have questions about the ImPACT, please contact Head Athletic Trainer Ellen Malloy (emalloy@thayer.org / 781.664.2273).

Waiver forms for Off-Campus Athletics

Tryout & Practice Info

Off-Campus Practice Locations

Girls’ Hockey
Boch Ice Center
1105 East Street
Dedham, MA 02026

Boys’ Hockey
Canton Sportsplex
5 Carver Circle
Canton, MA 02021

Skiing
Blue Hill Ski Area
4001 Washington Street
Canton, MA 02021

Swimming
TBD

Upcoming Athletics Events

There are no events to display

Upper School Pre-Season Practice & Tryout Schedule

Monday, March 4

  • Baseball 3:30-5:30 Alumni Gym
  • Softball 4:30-6:00 Alumni/ Memorial Gym
  • Boys’ Lacrosse 3:30-5:30 Turf #1
  • Girls’ Lacrosse 3:30-5:30 Turf #2
  • Boys’ Tennis 3:30-4:30 Fitness Center
  • Girls’ Tennis 3:30-4:30 Fitness Center
  • Boys’ & Girls’ Crew 3:30-5:30 Tigers Den
  • Co-ed Golf 3:30-4:15 Hitting Tunnel
  • Track & Field 3:30-5:30 Track

Tuesday, March 5

  • Baseball 3:30-5:30 Alumni Gym
  • Softball 4:30-6:00 Alumni/ Memorial Gym
  • Boys’ Lacrosse 3:30-5:30 Turf #2
  • Girls’ Lacrosse 3:30-5:30 Turf #1
  • Boys’ Tennis OFF
  • Girls’ Tennis OFF
  • Boys’ & Girls’ Crew 3:30-5:30 Tigers Den
  • Co-ed Golf 3:30-4:15 Hitting Tunnel
  • Track & Field 3:30-5:30 Track

Wednesday, March 6

  • Baseball 2:00-4:00 Alumni Gym
  • Softball 2:00-4:00 Alumni/ Memorial Gym
  • Boys’ Lacrosse 2:00-4:00 Turf #1
  • Girls’ Lacrosse 2:00-4:00 Turf #2
  • Boys’ Tennis OFF
  • Girls’ Tennis OFF
  • Boys’ & Girls’ Crew 2:00-4:00 Tigers Den
  • Co-ed Golf 2:00-3:00 Fitness Center
  • Track & Field 2:00-4:00 Track

Thursday, March 7

  • Baseball 3:30-5:30 Alumni Gym
  • Softball 4:30-6:00 Alumni/ Memorial Gym
  • Boys’ Lacrosse 3:30-5:30 Turf #2
  • Girls’ Lacrosse 3:30-5:30 Turf #1
  • Boys’ Tennis OFF
  • Girls’ Tennis OFF
  • Boys’ & Girls’ Crew 3:30-5:30 Tigers Den
  • Co-ed Golf 3:30-4:15 Hitting Tunnel
  • Track & Field 3:30-5:30 Track

Spring Break Open Gym, Track, Turf & Fitness Center Use Information
March 11-14: 12:00-2:00pm

Spring Break Practice & Trip Schedule

Florida Trips

  • Baseball: March 17-22
  • Softball: March 17-21
  • Girls Lacrosse: March 17-21
  • Golf: March 17-21
  • Crew: March 17-22

Tuesday, March 19

  • Boys Lacrosse 10:00am- 1:00pm Turf #1 &2
  • Track & Field 10:00am- 12:00pm (optional) Track

Wednesday, March 20

  • Boys Lacrosse 10:00am- 1:00pm Turf #1 &2
  • Track & Field 10:00am- 12:00pm (optional) Track

Thursday, March 21

  • Boys Lacrosse 2:30 @ Foxboro (S)
  • Track & Field 10:00am- 12:00pm (optional) Track

Friday, March 22

  • Boys Lacrosse 10:00am- 1:00pm Turf #1 &2
  • Track & Field 10:00am- 12:00pm (optional) Track

Saturday, March 23

  • Boys Lacrosse 9:00am @ Union Point (S)

The first typical week of all Upper & Middle School Sports will begin on March 25.

Athletic Department Staff

Athletic Department Staff & Coaches Contact Information

You can also find all coaches' contact information on each team's page.

 

Athletic Department Staff                                                                                                                          
Athletic Director Rick Foresteire P '19, '21 rforesteire@thayer.org    781.664.2247
Middle School Athletic Director   John Reid jreid@thayer.org 781.664.2289
Associate Athletic Director Kristin Parnell kparnell@thayer.org 781.664.2246
Assistant Athletic Director Brad Peterson '11 bpeterson@thayer.org 781.664.2327
Head Athletic Trainer Ellen Malloy emalloy@thayer.org 781.664.2273
Athletic Trainer Garett Butkuss gbutkuss@thayer.org 781.664.2244
Athletic Trainer Anne Lally alally@thayer.org 781.664.2250
Equipment Manager AnnMarie Leonard P '03, '06   aleonard@thayer.org 781.664.2234
Associate Equipment Manager Jake Spedden jspedden@thayer.org 781.664.2604
Strength & Conditioning Coach Sophie Browne '04 sbrowne@thayer.org 781.664.2245

 

Fall Sports - Upper School Coaches / After School Activities  
Football Jeff Toussaint '82 jtoussaint@thayer.org        781.664.2333   
Field Hockey Nate Coolidge ncoolidge@thayer.org   781.664.2327  
Boys' Soccer Jim Felix jfelix@thayer.org 781.664.2327  
Girls' Soccer Nick Rugnetta '07 nrugnetta@thayer.org 781.664.2327  
Boys' Cross Country Joe Pelletier jpelletier@thayer.org 781.664.2228  
Girls' Cross Country Jeff Browne P '04, '05      jbrowne@thayer.org 781.664.2237  
Volleyball Jazna Stannard jstannard@thayer.org 781.664.2327  
Crew - Instructional Emma Taylor '12 etaylor@thayer.org 781.664.2335  
Tennis - Instructional Betsy Bloom bbloom@thayer.org 781.664.2217  
Strength & Conditioning         Sophie Browne '04 sbrowne@thayer.org 781.664.2245  
Managing Kristin Parnell kparnell@thayer.org 781.664.2246  

 

Winter Sports - Upper School Coaches
Boys' Hockey Tony Amonte '89, P '16, '18, '19, '23    aamonte@thayer.org 781.664.2505 
Girls' Hockey Brian Cibelli bcibelli@thayer.org 781.664.2326
Boys' Basketball Brandon Odom '04 bodom@thayer.org 781.664.2229
Girls' Basketball William O'Dwyer '02 wodwyer@thayer.org 781.664.2332
Boys' & Girls' Skiing   Bryan Morrissey
Heidi Brown
bmorrissey@lmhspc.com   
hbrown@thayer.org 
781.664.2208
Co-Ed Wrestling Brian Conrad bconrad@thayer.org 781.664.2327
Boys' & Girls' Swimming   Samantha Taylor staylor@thayer.org 781.664.2287
Boys' & Girls' Diving Brooks Donnelly bdonnelly@thayer.org 781.664.2287
Gymnastics Joan McDonough jog1983@comcast.net 781.843.9624

 

Spring Sports - Upper School Coaches
Baseball Rick Foresteire P '19, '21     rforesteire@thayer.org 781.664.2247 
Softball Laura McDonough lmcdonough@thayer.org      781.664.2327
Boys' Lacrosse Ben Rubeor  brubeor@thayer.org 781.664.1618
Girls' Lacrosse Anni Zukauskas '94 azukauskas@thayer.org 781.664.2295
Boys' Track & Field     Mike Jones '03 mijones@thayer.org 781.664.2245
Girls' Track & Field     Jeff Browne P '04, '05 jbrowne@thayer.org 781.664.2237
Boys' & Girls'  Crew Emma Taylor '12 etaylor@thayer.org 781.664.2335
Girls' Tennis Cathy Turpel cturpel@thayer.org 781.664.2255
Boys' Tennis Mike Davis mdavis@thayer.org 781.883.9044
Co-Ed Golf Jamie Bourque jbourque@thayer.org 781.664.2285

 

 

FAQs

What is a team parent?

Historically at the varsity level, captains’ parents plan team events and organize a food/drink schedule. However, these events and schedules are welcome at all levels (JV and Thirds) so that these athletes can have the same bonding experiences. If a parent is interested in helping the team in this manner, please reach out to the coach. Click here to read about Team/Captain's Parent Guidelines.

What are team dinners?

Team dinners are a wonderful tradition at Thayer in which team members gather at a student’s house, a restaurant, or Thayer as a team bonding experience. Often organized at the varsity level, they are welcome at the sub-varsity level as well. If you are interested in hosting or simply coordinating a dinner, please reach out the team parent or coach. Events include potluck dinners, pizza or pasta parties, and team breakfasts before a game.  Please ask for volunteers to host with all families contributing so that it is not a burden on the host family. These events can be held at school if transportation for underclassmen is a concern.  To reserve an on-campus space for an event, please contact Barbara Browne (bbrowne@thayer.org or 781.664.2268). 

What is an End-of-Season Team Banquet?

These are banquets arranged by team parents, in coordination with the Head Coach, to celebrate the season. They are held at local restaurants, students’ homes, or at Thayer. Most often organized at the varsity level, they are welcome at the sub-varsity level as well. If you are interested in helping with a banquet, please reach out to the team parent or coach. Please feel free to reach out to all parents for their assistance or contributions as these should not be a financial burden to team parents.  These events can be held at school if transportation for underclassmen is a concern.  To reserve an on-campus space for an event, please contact Barbara Browne (bbrowne@thayer.org or 781.664.2268).

Where can I find team rosters?

Team rosters can be found on each individual Team Page. You can access all Team Pages via the Parents Section, under Athletics (thayer.org/parents/athletics), or in the main Athletics section of thayer.org under “Teams, Schedules & Results” (thayer.org/athletics/teams-schedules-results).

Where can I find my child’s team schedule?

Team schedules can be found on each individual Team Page. You can access all Team Pages via the Parents Section, under Athletics (thayer.org/parents/athlettics), or in the main Athletics section of thayer.org under “Teams, Schedules & Results” (thayer.org/athletics/teams-schedules-results).

You can set up Athletics text alerts to receive a text whenever there’s a change in the schedule, and you can also subscribe to Team schedules to pull into the calendar app you use on your phone or computer.

Click here for instructions on how to set up Athletics text alerts and how to make your team’s schedule appear on your default Calendar app.

How do I sign up for Athletic Alerts for my phone and computer?

Does Thayer provide uniforms?

Yes. Uniforms are issued prior to the first game and will be handled by the coach. Uniforms should be turned in at the end of the season.

How do I buy sports-specific athletic gear?

Your child will be assigned a team uniform. If he/she would like sport-specific athletic attire in addition to this, they can find descriptions of what is available to purchase on their Team Page. You can access all Team Pages via the Parents Section, under Athletics (thayer.org/parents/athletics), or in the main Athletics section of thayer.org under “Teams, Schedules & Results” (thayer.org/athletics/teams-schedules-results).

Where can I buy Thayer merchandise?

The Campus Store is located in Cahall and is open during school hours. Click here to view a limited selection of items available for sale in the Campus Store.

Does Thayer provide transportation to and from games?

Your child will be transported by Thayer to and from their sporting events. If you wish to drive your child or have them drive themselves, you must ask the AD and the coach for permission. You are allowed to drive your child home from a game or your child can leave with another student after informing the coach.

Does my child have a locker in the locker room?

All Thayer students are assigned a locker in the locker room. Please speak with staff in the Campus Store for more information and to be assigned a padlock for this locker.

Does Thayer wash uniforms?

Yes. Students can drop off dirty uniforms in the Campus Store/Equipment Room. If it is closed, there is a chute outside the Campus Store that the uniform can be dropped into. Clean uniforms can be picked up the next day in the Campus Store.

Does Thayer provide snacks and drinks for the practices and games?

Thayer does not provide food or drinks for practices and games. Team parents often put together a schedule and ask parents to contribute. The free online scheduler “Sign Up Genius” is a great resource for parents to use. If you would like to put together a schedule, please reach out to the coach.

How do I find information about spring trips?

Sport-specific information regarding spring trips is found on each Team Page. You can access all Team Pages via the Parents Section, under Athletics (thayer.org/parents/athletics), or in the main Athletics section of thayer.org under “Teams, Schedules & Results” (thayer.org/athletics/teams-schedules-results).

Does Thayer have an athletic trainer available if my child gets hurt or needs advice?

Yes. The athletic training room is located on the ground level of the Sawyer Athletic Complex, adjacent to the Fish Center for Physical Fitness. There are three satellite Athletic Training Rooms, at the South Athletic Complex, at the Boch Ice Center, and at the Canton Sportsplex.

Click here to see more information about Sports Medicine at Thayer.

What are the Athletics Policies and Requirements?