Athletics

Team Pages & Upcoming Games



Team Pages

Select your team from this list to view team overview information, rosters, coach information, and schedules of games and practices.


Helpful Links



Upcoming Games

Tryout & Practice Info

Off-Campus Practice Locations

Skiing
Blue Hill Ski Area
4001 Washington Street, Canton

Swimming
Randolph High School
70 Memorial Pkwy, Rockland

Blue Hills Regional High School
800 Randolph Street, Canton

Hockey
Thayer Sports Center
1535 Washington St, Braintree

Upcoming Athletics Events

No Middle School Sports

Upper School Pre-Season Practice & Tryout Schedule

Thursday, November 21

  • Girls Varsity Hockey: 5:20-7:00pm
  • Boys Varsity Hockey: 3:40-5:10pm
  • Girls Varsity Basketball: 3:30-5:30pm (Memorial)
  • Boys Varsity Basketball: 3:30-5:30pm (Alumni)
  • Wrestling: 3:30-5:30pm

Friday, November 22

  • Girls Varsity Hockey: 3:40-5:10pm
  • Boys Varsity Hockey: 5:20-7:00pm
  • Girls Varsity Basketball: 3:30-5:30pm (Alumni)
  • Boys Varsity Basketball: 3:30-5:30pm (Memorial)
  • Wrestling: 3:30-5:30pm

Saturday, November 23

  • Girls Varsity Hockey: 2:10-4:00pm
  • Boys Varsity Hockey: 12:00-2:00pm
  • Girls Varsity Basketball: 12:00-2:00pm (Memorial)
  • Boys Varsity Basketball: 12:00-2:00pm (Alumni)
  • Wrestling: 12:00-2:00pm

Sunday, November 24: No Sports

Monday, November 25

  • Girls JV Hockey: 3:40-5:00pm (half)
  • Boys JV Hockey: 3:40-4:30pm (full)
  • Girls Varsity Hockey: 4:40-5:45pm
  • Boys Varsity Hockey: 5:55-7:00pm
  • Girls Varsity & JV Basketball: 3:45-5:45pm (Memorial)
  • Boys Varsity & JV Basketball: 3:45-5:45pm (Alumni)
  • Wrestling: 3:45-5:45pm
  • Skiing: 3:30-4:30pm (Fitness Center)
  • Swimming: 5:30-7:00pm (Randolph HS)

Tuesday, November 26th

  • Girls JV Hockey: 3:40-4:30pm (full)
  • Boys JV Hockey: 3:40-5:00pm (half)
  • Girls Varsity Hockey: 5:55-7:00pm
  • Boys Varsity Hockey: 4:40-5:45pm
  • Girls Varsity & JV Basketball: 3:45-5:45pm (Alumni)
  • Boys Varsity & JV Basketball: 3:45-5:45pm (Memorial)
  • Wrestling: 3:30-5:30pm
  • Skiing: 3:30-4:30pm (Fitness Center)
  • Swimming: 5:00-7:00pm (Randolph HS)

Wednesday, November 27 & Thursday, November 28: No Sports

Friday, November 29

  • Girls Varsity Hockey: 1:40-3:00pm
  • Boys Varsity Hockey: 12:00-1:30pm
  • Girls Varsity Basketball: TBA @ Babson
  • Boys Varsity Basketball: 1:00-3:00pm (Memorial)
  • Wrestling: 1:00-3:00pm

Saturday, November 30

  • Girls Varsity Hockey: 2:10-4:00pm
  • Boys Varsity Hockey: 12:00pm v. Rivers (s)
  • Girls Varsity Basketball: TBA @ Babson
  • Boys Varsity Basketball: 10:00am-12:00pm (Memorial)
  • Wrestling: 10:00am-12:00pm

*The 1st typical week of all Upper & Middle School Sports will begin on December 2. All Middle School Sports and Upper School non-interscholastic programs begin December 2.

Forms

IMPACT Testing

ImPACT (Immediate Post Concussion Assessment & Cognitive Test)

Click here to download a printable PDF

Instructions for Baseline Testing

All Thayer Academy students must take the computerized ImPACT baseline test every 2 years. The test can be completed on a home computer and takes about 30 minutes.

ImPACT is a simple cognitive assessment tool that helps health care providers to:

  • Assess for concussion after a student sustains a head injury.
  • Guide a student-athlete’s safe return to play.

Before beginning the ImPACT test, the student should:

  • Be supervised by a parent/guardian when taking the test.
  • Have access to a computer with an external mouse. (A laptop can be used as long as the student is also using an external mouse. TouchPad and TrackPoint will not work for this test.)
  • Close out of all applications except the ImPACT site within your internet browser.
  • Turn off the pop-up blocker in your internet browser. (The test will not launch if the pop-up blocker is on. Be sure to turn the pop-up blocker back on when you are finished.)
  • Ensure that the testing environment is free of noise and other distractions. You will need to concentrate and exercise your memory.
  • No Talking. No cell phones. No sound on the computer.

Steps to begin the test:

  1. Go to the ImPACT Online Test site – https://www.impacttestonline.com/htmllauncher/
  2. Enter the Customer Code E44CVM3UES
  3. Click “Launch Baseline Test.”
  4. Choose your preferred language to take the test. (English is the default).
  5. Answer the questions about “demographic information” and “current symptoms and conditions.” Note: # of years completed in school = your year in September minus 1. (e.g., If you're entering 9th grade in September, the number of years completed = 8).
  6. Proceed with the test.
  7. At the end, when prompted, be sure to include your email address and athletictrainer@thayer.org to be sent a confirmation that includes an identifying “Passport ID.”

Once the test has been completed, parents must log into Magnus Health and enter the date of the completed test.

If you have questions about taking the baseline ImPACT test, please contact the athletic trainers (athletictrainer@thayer.org).

Waiver forms for Off-Campus Athletics

Athletics Department Staff

Athletics Department Staff & Coaches Contact Information

You can also find all coaches' contact information on each team's page.

Athletics Department Staff                                                                                                                          
Athletics Director Rick Foresteire P '19, '21 rforesteire@thayer.org    781.664.2247
Middle School Athletics Director   John Reid jreid@thayer.org 781.664.2289
Associate Athletics Director Kristin Parnell kparnell@thayer.org 781.664.2246
Assistant Athletics Director Brad Peterson '11 bpeterson@thayer.org 781.664.2327
Head Athletics Trainer Ellen Malloy emalloy@thayer.org 781.664.2273
Athletics Trainer Garett Butkuss gbutkuss@thayer.org 781.664.2244
Athletics Trainer Anne Lally alally@thayer.org 781.664.2250
Equipment Manager AnnMarie Leonard P '03, '06   aleonard@thayer.org 781.664.2234
Associate Equipment Manager Jake Spedden jspedden@thayer.org 781.664.2604
Strength & Conditioning Coach Sophie Browne '04 sbrowne@thayer.org 781.664.2245

 

Fall Sports - Upper School Coaches / After School Activities  
Football Jeff Toussaint '82 jtoussaint@thayer.org        781.664.2333   
Field Hockey Nate Coolidge ncoolidge@thayer.org   781.664.2327  
Boys' Soccer Jim Felix jfelix@thayer.org 781.664.2327  
Girls' Soccer Nick Rugnetta '07 nrugnetta@thayer.org 781.664.2327  
Boys' Cross Country Joe Pelletier jpelletier@thayer.org 781.664.2228  
Girls' Cross Country Jeff Browne P '04, '05      jbrowne@thayer.org 781.664.2237  
Volleyball Jazna Stannard jstannard@thayer.org 781.664.2327  
Crew - Instructional Ryan Colbeth rcolbeth@gmail.com 781.664.2335  
Tennis - Instructional Betsy Bloom bbloom@thayer.org 781.664.2217  
Strength & Conditioning         Sophie Browne '04 sbrowne@thayer.org 781.664.2245  
Managing Kristin Parnell kparnell@thayer.org 781.664.2246  

 

Winter Sports - Upper School Coaches
Boys' Hockey Tony Amonte '89 P '16, '18, '19, '23    tamonte@thayer.org 781.664.2505 
Girls' Hockey Brian Cibelli bcibelli@thayer.org 781.664.2326
Boys' Basketball Brandon Odom '04 bodom@thayer.org 781.664.2229
Girls' Basketball William O'Dwyer '02 wodwyer@thayer.org 781.664.2332
Boys' & Girls' Skiing   Bryan Morrissey
Heidi Brown
bmorrissey@lmhspc.com   
hbrown@thayer.org 
781.664.2208
Co-Ed Wrestling Brian Conrad bconrad@thayer.org 781.664.2327
Swimming & Diving   Samantha Taylor
Jessica Stokes
staylor@thayer.org
jstokes@thayer.org 
781.664.2287
Gymnastics Joan McDonough jog1983@comcast.net 781.843.9624

 

Spring Sports - Upper School Coaches
Baseball Rick Foresteire P '19, '21     rforesteire@thayer.org 781.664.2247 
Softball Laura McDonough lmcdonough@thayer.org      781.664.2327
Boys' Lacrosse Ben Rubeor  brubeor@thayer.org 781.664.1618
Girls' Lacrosse Anni Zukauskas '94 azukauskas@thayer.org 781.664.2295
Boys' Track & Field     Mike Jones '03 mijones@thayer.org 781.664.2245
Girls' Track & Field     Jeff Browne P '04, '05 jbrowne@thayer.org 781.664.2237
Boys' & Girls'  Crew Jordan Evans jevans@thayer.org 781.664.2224
Girls' Tennis Cathy Turpel cturpel@thayer.org 781.664.2255
Boys' Tennis Mike Davis mdavis@thayer.org 781.883.9044
Co-Ed Golf Jamie Bourque jbourque@thayer.org 781.664.2285

 

 

FAQs

What is a team parent?

Historically at the varsity level, captains’ parents plan team events and organize a food/drink schedule. However, these events and schedules are welcome at all levels (JV and Thirds) so that these athletes can have the same bonding experiences. If a parent is interested in helping the team in this manner, please reach out to the coach. Click here to read about Team/Captain's Parent Guidelines.

What are team dinners?

Team dinners are a wonderful tradition at Thayer in which team members gather at a student’s house, a restaurant, or Thayer as a team bonding experience. Often organized at the varsity level, they are welcome at the sub-varsity level as well. If you are interested in hosting or simply coordinating a dinner, please reach out the team parent or coach. Events include potluck dinners, pizza or pasta parties, and team breakfasts before a game.  Please ask for volunteers to host with all families contributing so that it is not a burden on the host family. These events can be held at school if transportation for underclassmen is a concern.  To reserve an on-campus space for an event, please contact Barbara Browne (bbrowne@thayer.org or 781.664.2268). 

What is an End-of-Season Team Banquet?

These are banquets arranged by team parents, in coordination with the Head Coach, to celebrate the season. They are held at local restaurants, students’ homes, or at Thayer. Most often organized at the varsity level, they are welcome at the sub-varsity level as well. If you are interested in helping with a banquet, please reach out to the team parent or coach. Please feel free to reach out to all parents for their assistance or contributions as these should not be a financial burden to team parents.  These events can be held at school if transportation for underclassmen is a concern.  To reserve an on-campus space for an event, please contact Barbara Browne (bbrowne@thayer.org or 781.664.2268).

Where can I find team rosters?

Team rosters can be found on each individual Team Page. You can access all Team Pages via the Parents Section, under Athletics (thayer.org/parents/athletics), or in the main Athletics section of thayer.org under “Teams, Schedules & Results” (thayer.org/athletics/teams-schedules-results).

Where can I find my child’s team schedule?

Team schedules can be found on each individual Team Page. You can access all Team Pages via the Parents Section, under Athletics (thayer.org/parents/athlettics), or in the main Athletics section of thayer.org under “Teams, Schedules & Results” (thayer.org/athletics/teams-schedules-results).

You can set up Athletics text alerts to receive a text whenever there’s a change in the schedule, and you can also subscribe to Team schedules to pull into the calendar app you use on your phone or computer.

Click here for instructions on how to set up Athletics text alerts and how to make your team’s schedule appear on your default Calendar app.

How do I sign up for Athletics Alerts for my phone and computer?

Does Thayer provide uniforms?

Yes. Uniforms are issued prior to the first game and will be handled by the coach. Uniforms should be turned in at the end of the season.

How do I buy sports-specific athletic gear?

Your child will be assigned a team uniform. If he/she would like sport-specific athletic attire in addition to this, they can find descriptions of what is available to purchase on their Team Page. You can access all Team Pages via the Parents Section, under Athletics (thayer.org/parents/athletics), or in the main Athletics section of thayer.org under “Teams, Schedules & Results” (thayer.org/athletics/teams-schedules-results).

Where can I buy Thayer merchandise?

The Campus Store is located in Cahall and is open during school hours. Click here to view a limited selection of items available for sale in the Campus Store.

Does Thayer provide transportation to and from games?

Your child will be transported by Thayer to and from their sporting events. If you wish to drive your child or have them drive themselves, you must ask the AD and the coach for permission. You are allowed to drive your child home from a game or your child can leave with another student after informing the coach.

Does my child have a locker in the locker room?

All Thayer students are assigned a locker in the locker room. Please speak with staff in the Campus Store for more information and to be assigned a padlock for this locker.

Does Thayer wash uniforms?

Yes. Students can drop off dirty uniforms in the Campus Store/Equipment Room. If it is closed, there is a chute outside the Campus Store that the uniform can be dropped into. Clean uniforms can be picked up the next day in the Campus Store.

Does Thayer provide snacks and drinks for the practices and games?

Thayer does not provide food or drinks for practices and games. Team parents often put together a schedule and ask parents to contribute. The free online scheduler “Sign Up Genius” is a great resource for parents to use. If you would like to put together a schedule, please reach out to the coach.

How do I find information about spring trips?

Sport-specific information regarding spring trips is found on each Team Page. You can access all Team Pages via the Parents Section, under Athletics (thayer.org/parents/athletics), or in the main Athletics section of thayer.org under “Teams, Schedules & Results” (thayer.org/athletics/teams-schedules-results).

Does Thayer have an athletic trainer available if my child gets hurt or needs advice?

Yes. The athletic training room is located on the ground level of the Sawyer Athletic Complex, adjacent to the Fish Center for Physical Fitness. There are three satellite Athletic Training Rooms, at the South Athletic Complex, at the Boch Ice Center, and at the Canton Sportsplex.

Click here to see more information about Sports Medicine at Thayer.

What are the Athletics Policies and Requirements?