Thayer finishes great season at ACSL All-Star Contest

Thayer Academy students recently competed against some of the strongest high school programmers in the nation and beyond at the annual American Computer Science League (ACSL) All-Star Contest. 
This year's full-day competition was held May 25 at Wayne Hills High School in Wayne, New Jersey. 
Thayer's team, which finished 14th overall, consisted of Louis Lu '19, Nathan Ngo '19, Austin Bennett '20, Garner Thompson '20, and Alan Xu '20. Bennett also received an individual prize for his particularly strong performance.  
"They represented our computer science program and our school so well," said US Math Dept. Head Kevin Cedrone P '22, the team's faculty advisor. 
The Academy earned the coveted invite to the all-star contest on the strength of another outstanding year in the ACSL competitions. During the "regular season," Thayer's squad of second- and third-year programming students tied for first place among the 71 teams in its division, scoring 200 out of a possible 200 points across the school year. The team's division includes magnet schools for math/science/technology from across the United States (including Virginia, Maryland, New Jersey, and California) as well as multiple teams from both Romania and Croatia. 
Cedrone congratulated the team for its strong showing over the weekend. He also pointed out that this is the third consecutive all-star invite for the Tigers. With that in mind, he thanked the Academy's computer science seniors — Tim Kemp, Olivia Floody, Peter Middleton, Lu, Justin O'Leary, Emily Feng, Connor Davidson, Brian Cui, Jenna Hersh, Ed Connolly, Ngo, Adam Fogel, Katniss Zhu, and Chris Underhill — for propelling the thriving program to such heights. 

Thayer Academy ACSL Team

After another strong season, Thayer Academy once again competed in the ACSL All-Star Contest. This year's Thayer ACSL All-Star team included, from left: Louis Lu '19, Alan Xu '20, US Math Dept. Head Kevin Cedrone P '22, Nathan Ngo '19, Austin Bennett '20, and Garner Thompson '20.