Skip To Main Content
Thayer Academy inducts 26 students into Cum Laude Society

Continuing an Academy tradition begun in 1930, Thayer's Cum Laude Committee recently announced the induction of 26 seniors into the Cum Laude Society. 

"This is a great honor for these 26 students, whose hard work and solid character places them in this society," said Upper School Director Highley Thompson P '20, '23, a member of the Cum Laude Committee. 

All members of the Class of 2020, this year's inductees are Sophie Antone, George (Austin) Bennett, Caitlin Caulfield, Allison Deegan, Annabel Doherty, Madeleine Farrell, Jackson Humphreys, Stefanie Joe, Molly King, Jessie King, Hongyue (Yolanda) Lin, Aimee Matos, Camryn McCrystal, Michael Nessralla, Olivia O'Connor, Erika Plante, Isabel Potter, Ciara Sage, Matthew Scapicchio, Yijiao (Sananca) Shen, Charlotte Struzziero, Alison Swiercznski, Matthew (Garner) Thompson, Sophia Ubertalli, Kara Walser, and Zhiyu (Alan) Xu. 

The objective of the Cum Laude Society is to promote learning and sound scholarship in secondary schools. The Society was founded in 1906 to recognize the scholastic achievement of seniors in those schools. The Thayer Academy chapter of the Cum Laude Society received its charter in 1930 and has been inducting students for the last 90 years. Each chapter of the Cum Laude Society may elect up to 20% of the graduating class who have demonstrated academic excellence in a college preparatory curriculum. 

The Cum Laude Committee consists of Betsy Bloom; Kevin Cedrone P '22; Paula Collins P '10, '21; Derek Keough '12; and Highley Thompson P '20, '23. 

To watch a video recognizing these outstanding seniors for their accomplishment, please click here