Team Details

Lacrosse - Varsity Boys


2019 Season Preview:

The Varsity Boys Lacrosse team will have a new look in 2019. The team will be led by Ben Rubeor, who takes over as the head coach of Thayer Lacrosse after leading his Loyola Blakefield team to a Top-10 National Ranking last season. Matt Ranaghan, a former coach at Trinity College, enters his second season as the defensive coordinator. Jay Nolen '19 and Aidan Gallagher '19 (committed to Vassar) will serve as team captains for the Tigers this year.

The Thayer Lacrosse team won the ISL Championship in 2014, and the Tigers continue to produce college-ready lacrosse players. In 2018, the Tigers graduated Duke Lenaghan (UMass Amherst), Ian Thompson (Dickinson), and Jayce Lambert (Holy Cross), who set the school's career scoring record with 237 points. The team will look to an experienced defense and some young offensive players to step up in 2019.

2018 Award Winners:

Team MVP: Jayce Lambert '18

ISL All-League: Jayce Lambert '18, Duke Lenaghan '18, Aidan Gallagher '19 (HM), Jay Nolen '19 (HM)

Duke Lenaghan - University of Massachusetts

Ian Thompson - Dickinson College


There are no events to display


# Name Position Class Hometown
1 Ian Thompson Midfield 2018 Norwood, MA
3 Quinn McConnaughey Midfield 2021 Cohasset, MA
5 Jay Nolen Defense 2019 Dover, MA
6 Conor Sage Midfield 2018 Norwell, MA
7 Jayce Lambert (captain) Attack 2018 Norwell, MA
8 William Fitzpatrick Attack 2018 Norwell, MA
9 Aidan Gallagher Goalie 2019 Hanover, MA
10 Ryan Bogar Midfield 2020 Medfield, MA
12 Matthew DiRico Defense 2018 North Marshfield, MA
13 Thomas Azarela Goalie 2021 Boston, MA
14 Barry Bourassa III Midfield 2021 Raynham, MA
15 Matthew Vandam Midfield 2021 Scituate, MA
16 Theodore Kostakos Attack 2021 Dedham, MA
19 Nicholas Bower Midfield 2019 Chestnut Hill, MA
20 Andrew Seymour Goalie 2021 Canton, MA
21 Bo Rinkus Defense 2019 Pembroke, MA
22 Duke Lenaghan (captain) Defense 2018 Hanover, MA
24 Drew Callahan (captain) Defense 2018 Rockland, MA
26 Matthew Kenney Midfield 2021 Hingham, MA
28 Nicholas Meucci Defense 2019 Braintree, MA
33 John Daley Defense 2019 Plymouth, MA
37 John DeMarco Midfield 2021 Norwell, MA

Coach Info

  • Benjamin Rubeor
    Head Coach
    Ben joins Thayer as the Associate Director of Admissions and the Head Boys Lacrosse Coach. He comes to Thayer from Baltimore, MD where he worked in Admissions at his alma mater, Loyola Blakefield. Ben holds a B.A. in English and an M.S. in Finance from the University of Virginia, where he won an NCAA Championship in 2006 and captained the lacrosse team in 2007 & 2008. He played 8 seasons of professional lacrosse while he worked on his career in education and coaching. In 2015, Ben won the USA Today National High School Coach of the Year, and he now works as the Offensive Coordinator for the Boston Cannons of Major League Lacrosse. He enjoys inspiring and helping young people achieve their potential. Ben recently moved to the Boston-area with his wife, Binny, and his daughter, Madeleine.