Team Details

Hockey - Varsity Boys


Season Preview | 2018-2019:

The Thayer Boys' hockey team are looking to build another successful season with a goal to return to NEPSAC Championship play in February.

There are eight forwards returning from last year's team, led by seniors Reilly Moran '19, Christian Hayes '19, Nolan Fitzpatrick '19, and Jack Garvey '19. They'll be supported by Griffin Lincoln '20, Kevin Moriarty '20, Sasha Teleguine '21, and Zach Glass '21. Newcomers CJ Monturio '21, Matt Sullivan '21, Nick Roukounakis '22, Michael Stenberg '23, and Joe Bennett '23 are looking to make an immediate impact.

Seniors Jake Flynn '19 and Jack Murphy '19 will lead returning defensemen Cam Mannion '20, Nolan Hayes '21, and David Romaine '21 and newcomers Brett Collins '22 and CJ Foley '23.

The two returning goaltenders - Gavin Fitzpatrick '20 and Alex MacMillian '19 - look forward to saving a lot of pucks this season.

Season Recap | 2017-2018:

Boys Hockey, led by an outstanding group of seniors Jay O’Brien who was the top scorer in New England with 80 points, Aidan McDonough who was the 4th highest scorer in New England with 58 points, Tristan Amonte, Jayson Dobay, Jimmy Scannell, Evan Googins, PJ Garrett & Cam Lemanski, had another outstanding campaign finishing with a 17-12-1 overall record and qualified for the New England Large School tournament. The team has qualified for the New England tournament 4 consecutive years. In the quarterfinals, they beat Trinity-Pawling and, in an emotional high charged game, beat rival St. Sebastian’s in the semifinal. In the championship, they came up just short against Brunswick 4-3 in overtime. Though disappointing, an outstanding run and the team finished ranked in the top 10 of New England.

2018 Award Winners:

ISL MVP: Jay O'Brien '18

Team MVP: Jay O’Brien '18

Most Improved Player: Zachary Glass '21

ISL All-League: Jay O’Brien '18, Aidan McDonough '18, Tristan Amonte '18, Jayson Dobay '18, Evan Googins '18

ISL Honorable Mention: Christian Hayes '19, Reilly Moran '19, Jake Flynn '19

All-USA Boys Hockey Player of the Year: Jay O'Brien '18 - Read Story

Jay O'Brien - Providence College

Aidan McDonough - Northeastern University

Jayson Dobay - University of Massachusetts

Former Tiger Adam Gaudette wins the Hobey Baker Award


Rivers School
Thayer - Canton Sportsplex (Ice Hockey)
Win 3-1
Governor's Academy
Thayer - Canton Sportsplex (Ice Hockey)
Win 4-2
Phillips Academy Andover
Phillips Academy Andover
Loss 4-2
Hoosac School
Thayer - Canton Sportsplex (Ice Hockey)
Loss 2-1 (OT)


# Name Position Class Hometown
2 Jack Garvey Forward 2019 Braintree, MA
4 Jake Flynn Defense 2019 Bridgewater, MA
6 Jack Murphy Defense 2019 Marshfield, MA
7 CJ Monturio Forward 2021 Weymouth, MA
8 Cam Mannion Defense 2020 Dorchester, MA
9 Nick Roukounakis Forward 2022 Pembroke, MA
10 Sasha Teleguine Forward 2021 North Attleboro, MA
12 Nolan Hayes Defense 2021 Milton, MA
14 Michael Stenberg Forward 2023 Needham, MA
15 Griffin Lincoln Forward 2020 Canton, MA
16 Matt Sullivan Forward 2021 Hingham, MA
17 Kevin Moriarty Forward 2020 Plymouth, MA
18 Nolan Fitzpatrick Forward 2019 Norwood, MA
19 Christian Hayes Forward 2019 Milton, MA
21 David Romaine Defense 2021 Braintree, MA
22 Zach Glass Forward 2021 Weymouth, MA
23 CJ Foley Defense 2023 Hanover, MA
24 Reilly Moran Forward 2019 Hingham, MA
25 Brett Collins Defense 2022 Quincy, MA
26 Joe Bennett Forward 2023 Cohasset, MA
30 Alex MacMillian Goalie 2019 Plymouth, MA
35 Gavin Fitzpatrick Goalie 2020 Norwood, MA

Coach Info

  • Anthony Amonte
    Head Coach
  • Bob Kelley
    Assistant Coach
  • Matt Collins
    Assistant Coach