Meet the Team

Roberta "Bobbi" Moran

Roberta "Bobbi" Moran

Director of Athletics
Bobbi
Athletics Director Roberta “Bobbi” Moran is an experienced administrator, coach, and educator. Prior to Thayer, Moran served for six years as athletics director at Kent Place School in New Jersey where she also coached field hockey. Before that, she spent 15 years as associate athletics director and sports information director at The Loomis Chaffee School in Connecticut; Moran also coached field hockey, golf, lacrosse, and softball at Loomis Chaffee. 

Moran earned her undergraduate degree from Siena College, where she played four years — two of those years as captain — on the Siena field hockey team. She later received her master's degree in strategic communication from Purdue University. A certified personal trainer and fitness instructor specializing in mindfulness and meditation, Moran cares deeply about student-athlete success in education as well as the physical and emotional health of those she works with. She has presented nationally and worked with Big Ten, Ivy, and NESCAC college athletic teams to create programs that improve mental focus and enhance athletic performance. She is a member of NOMAD (National Organization of Minority Athletic Directors) and SEED (Seeking Educational Equity and Diversity). 

When she’s off campus, Moran enjoys spending time with her husband, their four children, and her husky-lab mix, Boomer.
John Reid

John Reid

Middle School Director of Student Activities and Athletics; Middle School History Faculty; 8th Grade Dean
John Reid is the Middle School Athletics Director and teaches 8th grade history. Prior to being in the Middle School, John was the Assistant Athletics Director for 4 years. Before his years at Thayer, John worked in the Boston College Athletic Department and also was the General Manager of the Harwich Mariners of the Cape Cod Baseball League. John received a Bachelor's Degree in History from Boston College and a Master's Degree in Leadership from Northeastern University.

He lives in Hingham with his wife Heidi; their daughter Charlotte; their son Cooper and their yellow lab Katie.
Kristin Parnell

Kristin Parnell

Associate Director of Athletics
Kristin Parnell joined the Thayer staff in August 2015, after serving as Hanover High School Athletic Director from 2012 to 2014. Previously, Parnell served as Director of Athletics at Emerson College for 5 years, and was member of the Emerson athletic department for 14 years. Parnell has soccer coaching experience from her time at Emerson, Notre Dame Academy, and Hingham High School. She earned a bachelor’s degree in accounting from American International College, a master’s degree in education-sports management from Springfield College, and a master’s in management and organizational communication from Emerson College. Kristin, her husband Al, and their children Alyssa, Dylan and Jessica live in Hingham, Mass.
Brad Peterson

Brad Peterson

Associate Director of Athletics
Brad joined the Athletics Department in August 2018 after spending two years working in Alumni Relations at Thayer. He graduated from Thayer in 2011 where he was the captain of the Varsity Hockey and Varsity Baseball programs as well as the recipient of the Thomas J. Berry III Leadership Award. After Thayer, Brad attended Providence College, where he earned a B.S. in Finance in 2015. He was the team Captain and Club President of the PC Club Hockey Program which competes in the American Collegiate Hockey Association (ACHA). Brad is the oldest of three brothers: Ryan '14 and Kyle '16. He resides in South Boston.

Athletics Department Staff & Coaches Contact Information

You can also find all coaches' contact information on each team's page.

Athletics Department Staff                                                                                                                          
Athletics Director Bobbi Moran bmoran@thayer.org 781.664.2247
Middle School Athletics Director   John Reid jreid@thayer.org 781.664.2289
Associate Athletics Director Kristin Parnell kparnell@thayer.org 781.664.2246
Associate Athletics Director Brad Peterson '11 bpeterson@thayer.org 781.664.2327
Head Athletics Trainer Ellen Malloy emalloy@thayer.org 781.664.2273
Athletics Trainer Garett Butkuss P '26   gbutkuss@thayer.org 781.664.2244
Athletics Trainer Anne Lally alally@thayer.org 781.664.2250
Equipment & Uniform Manager Jacob Spedden jspedden@thayer.org        781.664.2604
Strength & Conditioning Coach Blair Bennett  bbennett@thayer.org  

 

Fall Sports - Upper School Coaches / After School Activities  
Football Jeff Toussaint '82                                           jtoussaint@thayer.org          
Field Hockey                     Kayla Florence '10 kflorence@thayer.org  
Boys' Soccer Ian Wheeler iwheeler@thayer.org  
Girls' Soccer Nick Rugnetta '07 nrugnetta@thayer.org  
Boys' Cross Country        Joe Pelletier jpelletier@thayer.org  
Girls' Cross Country Jeff Browne P '04, '05      jbrowne@thayer.org         
Volleyball Roberta Stannard rstannard@thayer.org  
Crew - Instructional John Geary jgeary@thayer.org  

 

Winter Sports - Upper School Coaches
Boys' Hockey David Hymovitz '92     dhymovitz@thayer.org
Girls' Hockey Brandy Fisher Bailey P '28, '29                      bfisherbailey@thayer.org   
Boys' Basketball Mike Jones '03 mijones@thayer.org
Girls' Basketball William O'Dwyer '02 wodwyer@thayer.org
Boys' & Girls' Skiing        Heidi Brown hbrown@thayer.org 
Co-Ed Wrestling TBA athletics@thayer.org
Swimming & Diving   Samantha Taylor staylor@thayer.org
Gymnastics Joan McDonough jog1983@comcast.net

 

Spring Sports - Upper School Coaches
Baseball James Pierce '03 jpierce@thayer.org  
Softball Laura McDonough lmcdonough@thayer.org     
Boys' Lacrosse Ben Rubeor  brubeor@thayer.org
Girls' Lacrosse Anni McDonough Zukauskas '94 P '28, '29     azukauskas@thayer.org
Boys' Track & Field       Mike Jones '03 mijones@thayer.org
Girls' Track & Field     Jeff Browne P '04, '05 jbrowne@thayer.org
Boys' & Girls'  Crew John Geary jgeary@thayer.org
Girls' Tennis Sally Goldman P '99, '00, '03 sgoldman@thayer.org
Boys' Tennis Mike Davis mdavis@thayer.org
Co-Ed Golf Robert "Bo" Cramer rcramer@thayer.org