Winter Sports Assembly highlights student-athletes

Thayer Academy Upper School recently held its Winter Sports Assembly to recognize its winter sports teams, recap many memorable moments, and present awards to deserving individuals. 

“It was an incredible sports season,” said Athletic Director Bobbi Moran, who cited buzzer-beater wins from the boys hoops team, the strong leadership of seniors on the boys hockey team, a Valicenti Cup victory for the girls hockey team, great performances from both the ski and swim teams, and NEPSAC playoff appearances for both the girls hockey and girls basketball teams. Moran thanked student-athletes, coaches, trainers, faculty, and staff for contributing to the winter’s success. 

Winter student-athletes receiving awards during the March 4 assembly were: 

Boys Varsity Hockey
Team MVP: Brady Kudrick '25
Team Coaches Award: Ryan Mottau '24
ISL All-League: Josh Halliday '24, Brady Kudrick '25, Tommy Anderson '25
ISL Honorable Mention: Brady Erickson '24 & Matt MacDonald '26
NEPSAC Honorable Mention: Brady Kudrick '25

Girls Varsity Hockey
Team MVP: Morgan McGathey '25
Team Coaches Award: Celia Benson '24 & Joey Brown '24
ISL All-League: Morgan McGathey '25, Kate Sullivan '25, Abby DeAnzeris '26
ISL Honorable Mention: Joey Brown '24 & Elizabeth MacDonald '24
ISL MVP: Morgan McGathey '25
NEPSAC All-League: Morgan McGathey '25
NEPSAC Honorable Mention: Kate Sullivan '25, Abby DeAnzeris '26

Boys Varsity Basketball
Team MVP: Lenny Tangishaka '24
Team Coaches Award: Marquis White '25
ISL All-League: Lenny Tangishaka '24
ISL Honorable Mention: Marquis White '25 & Jamari Antoine '25
NEPSAC All-League: Lenny Tangishaka '24
NEPSAC Honorable Mention: Marquis White '25 

Girls Varsity Basketball
Team MVP: Elle Grant '25
Team Coaches Award: Bella Balducci '24
ISL All-League: Elle Grant '25
ISL Honorable Mention: Jasmine James '25
NEPSAC 'Class A' All-Stars: Elle Grant '25, Jasmine James '25, Cassidy Mullin '26
NEPSAC All-League: Elle Grant '25
NEPSAC Honorable Mention: Jasmine James '25

Varsity Wrestling
Team MVP: Drew St. Pierre '26
Team Coaches Award: John Hoffman '24
ISL Honorable Mention: Drew St. Pierre '26 & Clement Scott '24
NEPSAC Honorable Mention: Drew St. Pierre '26

Girls & Boys Varsity Alpine Skiing
Team MVP: Conrad Langenhagen '24 & Tatiana Calvillo '28
Team Coaches Award: Chase Janes '24
ISL All-League: Conrad Langenhagen '24 
NEPSAC All-League: Conrad Langenhagen '24 (Slalom) & Tatiana Calvillo '28 (Slalom & Giant Slalom)
NEPSAC Honorable Mention: Benjamin Pike '29

Girls & Boys Varsity Swimming
Team MVP: Trevor Smith '25 & Peyton Knightly '24
Team Coaches Award: Courtney Tucker '24
NEPSAC All-League: Peyton Knightly '24 (200 Free & 500 Free)
NEPSAC Honorable Mention: Ella Richards '24 & Trevor Smith '25