Athletics

Team Pages & Upcoming Games



Team Pages

Select your team from this list to view team overview information, rosters, coach information, and schedules of games and practices.




How to Sign Up for Athletic Event Alerts

Enabling Your Cell Phone to Receive Text Alerts from thayer.org

To receive text messages from Thayer's website you need to activate your cell phone first – to confirm your phone number and to acknowledge that you will be charged for the messages by your cell phone provider (AT&T, Verizon, etc.) according to your billing plan.

How to Set Up Your Phone to Receive Text Alerts from Thayer
  1. Log in to your account by navigating to the top of the website and clicking on your section in the gray bar.
  2. When the login screen appears, enter your user name and password.
  3. Hover over your name at the top right of the screen and a dropdown menu will appear. Click Profile and check to see if your mobile number is listed. If there is no mobile number in your record, click on Add a Phone Number.
  4. From the dropdown menu, select Mobile Phone, then enter your number, scroll down and click Update Profile.
  5. Click on the pencil icon next to your phone number, and click Enable Text Message.
  6. Select your mobile carrier from the drop down menu, then scroll down and click the Update Profile button.
  7. Click the red Verify link, then click the red Request Code link to send a verification code to your cell phone via text.
  8. Enter that code and click Verify.
Signing Up for Athletics Calendar Alerts
  1. While you're still logged in, go to the Athletics Schedule.
  2. Click on the gold bell icon at the top right of the page.
  3. Select the team you want and click on Alerts.
  4. Under Manage Team Subscription, select whether you want to be alerted by email or phone (text).
  5. Select whether you want...
    1. A reminder before each game
    2. An alert when there are cancellations, postponements, or changes
    3. An alert giving scores when they are posted.
  6. Click on Update Settings.
How to add a button on your Home Screen to directly access a Team Page (instructions for iOS/iPhone)
  1. Open up Safari and navigate to the webpage. You may choose the Teams, Schedules and Results page to be able to access all teams from the same Home Screen button, or you can create separate Home screen Buttons for each team you would like to access (here is Varsity Football's team page as an example.
  2. At the bottom of the screen, tap the icon of a square with an up arrow. Scroll through the action options and tap on "Add to Home Screen".
  3. Type a name for your Home Screen button (i.e. "Thayer Teams" or "Varsity Football") and save.
  4. The button will appear on your Home Screen and now you can tap it to go directly to that page.

Upcoming Games

Forms

IMPACT Testing

Pre-Season Requirements for Participation in Athletics

In order to play team sports, each athlete must do two things before the first tryout date:

  1. Take the ImPACT* to get a baseline reading, which will be kept on file.
  2. Submit all medical forms to School Nurse Kathy Cunningham (kcunningham@thayer.org).

ImPACT (Immediate Post Concussion Assessment & Cognitive Test)

All student athletes must take the computerized ImPACT before the first tryout date or they cannot compete.

The test can be taken on a home computer. It usually takes about 20 minutes to complete, and the results are submitted to Thayer electronically. This is a simple cognitive assessment that effectively helps Thayer's athletic trainers to...

  • Objectively measure the existence and severity of a concussion (if an athlete should sustain a head injury of any kind)
  • Determine when a student-athlete can safely return to play

Before beginning the ImPACT, you should...

  • Have access to a computer with an external mouse. You have to use a desktop computer, not a laptop because TouchPad and TrackPoint mice don't work for this test.
  • Close out of all applications except ImPACT and your Internet browser.
  • Turn off the pop-up blocker in your Internet browser - the test will not launch if the pop-up blocker is on. (Also make sure to turn the pop-up blocker back on when you are finished.)
  • Settle into an environment free of noise and other distractions. You will need to concentrate and exercise your memory. So...

    • No Talking
    • No cell phones
    • No sound on the computer

Note: Students should be supervised by a parent when taking the test.

Steps to begin the test

  1. Launch the baseline test at www.impacttestonline.com/sportsconcussionnewengland
  2. Insert the Customer ID Code: 94348cf120 (case sensitive).
  3. Choose the language to take the test in (English).
  4. From the PULL down menu select Thayer Academy.
  5. Note: # of years completed in school = your year in September minus 1. (So if you're entering 9th grade in September the number of years you've completed is 8.)

If you have questions about the ImPACT, please contact Head Athletic Trainer Ellen Malloy (emalloy@thayer.org / 781.664.2273).

Waiver forms for Off-Campus Athletics

Tryout & Practice Info

Upcoming Athletics Events

No Middle School Sports

Upper School Pre-Season Tryout Week Schedule

Thursday, Sept 1
Varsity Field Hockey (tryouts)9-11am & 2-4pmSouth Athletic Campus
Varsity Boys' Soccer (tryouts)9-11am & 2-4pm

South Athletic Campus
Varsity Volleyball (tryouts)9-11am & 2-4pmAlumni Gym
Friday, Sept 2
All Football 9-11am & 2-4pmMain Campus/ Football Field
Varsity Field Hockey (tryouts)9-11am & 2-4pm

South Athletic Campus
Varsity Boys’ Soccer (tryouts)9-11am & 2-4pmSouth Athletic Campus
Varsity Girls’ Soccer (tryouts)

9-11am & 2-4pm

South Athletic Campus

Boys & Girls Cross-country 9-11amMain Campus
Varsity Volleyball (tryouts)

9-11am & 2-4pmAlumni Gym
Saturday, Sept 3
All Football 9-11am & 2-4pmMain Campus/ Football Field
Varsity Girls' Soccer (tryouts)10am-12pm & 2-4pm

South Athletic Campus
Varsity Girls' Soccer (scrimmage)10:00am vs. ScituateSouth Athletic Campus
Boys & Girls Cross-Country

9-11am

Main Campus

Sept 4, 5, 6
NO SPORTS

Wednesday, Sept 7
All Football 4:30-6:30pmMain Campus/ Football Field
Varsity/JV Field Hockey (tryouts)4:30-6:30pm

Main Campus/ Turf
Varsity/JV Boys’ Soccer (tryouts)4:30-6:30pmMain Campus/ Turf
Varsity/JV Girls’ Soccer (tryouts)

4:30-6:30pm

South Athletic Campus

All Cross-Country 4:30-6:30pmMain Campus
Varsity/JV Volleyball (tryouts)

4:30-6:30pmAlumni Gym
Crew- instructional (dryland training)

4:30-5:30pmTiger's Den
Tennis- instructional

4:30-5:30pmTennis Courts
Thursday, Sept 8
*1st Day of Middle School Sports 2:15-3:30pmMain Campus Fields
All Football 3:30-5:30pmMain Campus/ Football Field
Varsity/JV Field Hockey (tryouts)3:45-5:45pm

South Athletic Campus
Varsity/JV Boys’ Soccer (tryouts)3:30-5:30pmMain Campus/ Turf
Varsity/JV Girls’ Soccer (tryouts)

3:30-5:30pm

Main Campus/ Turf

All Cross-Country 3:30-5:30pmMain Campus
Varsity/JV Volleyball (tryouts)

3:30-5:30pmAlumni Gym
Crew- instructional (dryland training)

3:30-4:30pmTiger's Den
Tennis- instructional

3:30-4:30pmTennis Courts
Friday, Sept 9
All Football 3:30-5:30pmMain Campus/ Football Field
Varsity/JV Field Hockey (tryouts)3:30-5:45pm

Main Campus/ Turf
Varsity/JV Boys’ Soccer (tryouts)3:45-5:30pmSouth Athletic Campus
Varsity/JV Girls’ Soccer (tryouts)

3:30-5:30pm

Main Campus/ Turf

All Cross-Country 3:30-5pmMain Campus
Varsity/JV Volleyball (tryouts)

3:30-5:30pmAlumni Gym
Crew- instructional (dryland training)

3:30-4:30pmTiger's Den
Tennis- instructional

3:30-4:30pmTennis Courts
Saturday, Sept 10
All Football 9:30am-12:30pmMain Campus/ Football Field
Varsity Field Hockey9:30am-12:30pm

Main Campus/ Turf
Varsity Boys’ Soccer (scrimmage)9:30am-12:30pmMain Campus/ Turf
Varsity Girls’ Soccer (scrimmage)

2pm @ Tabor

Tabor

All Cross-Country 9:30-11amMain Campus
Varsity Volleyball

9:30am-12:30pmAlumni Gym

Athletic Department Staff

Athletic Department Staff & Coaches Contact Information

You can also find all coaches' contact information on each team's page.

Athletic DirectorRick Foresteire P '19, '21rforesteire@thayer.org781.664.2247
Middle School Athletic DirectorJohn Reidjreid@thayer.org781.664.2289
Associate Athletic DirectorKristin Parnellkparnell@thayer.org781.664.2246
Assistant Athletic DirectorKevin Steuerksteuer@thayer.org 781.664.2327
Head Athletic TrainerEllen Malloyemalloy@thayer.org781.664.2273
Athletic TrainerGarett Butkussgbutkuss@thayer.org781.664.2244
Athletic TrainerAnne Lallyalally@thayer.org781.664.2250
Equipment ManagerAnnMarie Leonard P '03, '06aleonard@thayer.org781.664.2234
Strength & Conditioning CoachSophie Browne '04sbrowne@thayer.org781.664.2245

Fall Sports - Upper School Coaches / After School Activities
FootballJeff Toussaint '82jtoussaint@thayer.org781.664.2333
Field HockeyAlison Souleasoule@thayer.org781.664.2324
Boys' SoccerJim Felixjfelix@thayer.org
Girls' SoccerNick RugnettaNickRugnetta@FCBoston.org
Boys' Cross CountryJoe Pelletierjpelletier@thayer.org781.664.2228
Girls' Cross CountryJeff Browne P'04, '05jbrowne@thayer.org781.664.2237
VolleyballCallie Schneidercschneider@thayer.org781.664.2233
Crew - InstructionalEmma Taylor '12etaylor@thayer.org
Tennis - InstructionalTBA
Fitness Skills,
Strength & Conditioning
Sophie Browne '04sbrowne@thayer.org781.664.2245
ManagingKristin Parnellkparnell@thayer.org781.664.2246

Winter Sports - Upper School Coaches
Boys' HockeyTony Amonte '89, P '16, '18, '19, '23aamonte@thayer.org781.664.2505
Girls' HockeyBrian Cibellibcibelli@thayer.org 781.664.2326
Boys' BasketballBrandon Odom '04bodom@thayer.org781.664.2229
Girls' BasketballWilliam O'Dwyer '02wodwyer@thayer.org781.664.2332
Co-Ed SkiingBryan Morrisseybmorrissey@lmhspc.com
Co-Ed WrestlingBobby Lewisr1lewis@comcast.net
Co-Ed SwimmingSamantha Taylorsmtaylor029@gmail.com
Co-Ed DivingBrooks Donnellybdonnelly@thayer.org781.664.2287
GymnasticsJoan McDonoughjog1983@comcast.net

Spring Sports - Upper School Coaches
BaseballRick Foresteire P '19, '21rforesteire@thayer.org781.664.2247
SoftballLaura McDonough
lmcd326@gmail.com
Boys' LacrosseStewart Curranstewran@me.com781.389.0407
Girls' LacrosseAnni Zukauskas '94azukauskas@thayer.org781.664.2295
Co-Ed Track & FieldJeff Browne P '04, '05jbrowne@thayer.org781.664.2237
Co-Ed CrewEmma Taylor '12etaylor@thayer.org
Girls' TennisCathy Turpelcturpel@thayer.org781.664.2255
Boys' TennisMike DavisMADGALI2000@yahoo.com781.883.9044
Co-Ed GolfAndrew Gibsonagibson@thayer.org781.664.2285

Spring Sports - Middle School Coaches
BaseballRich Iskrariskra@thayer.org
SoftballAngela Toussaintatoussaint@thayer.org
Boys' LacrosseMatt Ghidenmghiden@thayer.org
Girls' LacrosseAlison Souleasoule@thayer.org
Co-Ed TennisMike DavisMADGALI2000@yahoo.com781.883.9044
Co-Ed GolfJim Felixjfelix921@yahoo.com
Co-Ed Track & FieldTom Chiaritchiari@thayer.org

Powered by Finalsite