Athletics

Team Pages & Upcoming Games



Team Pages

Select your team from this list to view team overview information, rosters, coach information, and schedules of games and practices.


Upcoming Games

Forms

IMPACT Testing

Pre-Season Requirements for Participation in Athletics

In order to play team sports, each athlete must do two things before the first tryout date:

  1. Take the ImPACT* to get a baseline reading, which will be kept on file.
  2. Submit all medical forms to School Nurse Kathy Cunningham (kcunningham@thayer.org).

ImPACT (Immediate Post Concussion Assessment & Cognitive Test)

All student athletes must take the computerized ImPACT before the first tryout date or they cannot compete.

The test can be taken on a home computer. It usually takes about 20 minutes to complete, and the results are submitted to Thayer electronically. This is a simple cognitive assessment that effectively helps Thayer's athletic trainers to...

  • Objectively measure the existence and severity of a concussion (if an athlete should sustain a head injury of any kind)
  • Determine when a student-athlete can safely return to play

Before beginning the ImPACT, you should...

  • Have access to a computer with an external mouse. You have to use a desktop computer, not a laptop because TouchPad and TrackPoint mice don't work for this test.
  • Close out of all applications except ImPACT and your Internet browser.
  • Turn off the pop-up blocker in your Internet browser - the test will not launch if the pop-up blocker is on. (Also make sure to turn the pop-up blocker back on when you are finished.)
  • Settle into an environment free of noise and other distractions. You will need to concentrate and exercise your memory. So...

    • No Talking
    • No cell phones
    • No sound on the computer

Note: Students should be supervised by a parent when taking the test.

Steps to begin the test

  1. Launch the baseline test at https://www.impacttestonline.com/htmllauncher/
  2. Insert the Customer ID Code: E44CVM3UES (case sensitive).
  3. Choose the language to take the test in (English).
  4. From the PULL down menu select Thayer Academy.
  5. Note: # of years completed in school = your year in September minus 1. (So if you're entering 9th grade in September the number of years you've completed is 8.)

If you have questions about the ImPACT, please contact Head Athletic Trainer Ellen Malloy (emalloy@thayer.org / 781.664.2273).

Waiver forms for Off-Campus Athletics

Tryout & Practice Info

Off-Campus Practice Locations

Girls’ Hockey
Boch Ice Center
1105 East Street
Dedham, MA 02026

Boys’ Hockey
Canton Sportsplex
5 Carver Circle
Canton, MA 02021

Skiing
Blue Hill Ski Area
4001 Washington Street
Canton, MA 02021

Swimming
Blue Hills Regional Technical High School
800 Randolph Street
Canton, MA 02021

Upcoming Athletics Events

No Middle School Sports

Upper School Pre- Season Practice & Tryout Schedule

Thursday, November 16
Girls Varsity Hockey: 4:00-5:20pm
Boys Varsity Hockey: 4:00-6:00pm
Girls Varsity Basketball: 3:45-5:45pm (Memorial)
Boys Varsity Basketball: 3:45-5:45pm (Alumni)
Wrestling: 3:45-5:45pm

Friday, November 17
Girls Varsity Hockey: 4:00-5:20pm
Boys Varsity Hockey: 4:00-6:00pm
Girls Varsity Basketball: 3:30-5:30pm (Alumni)
Boys Varsity Basketball: 3:30-5:30pm (Memorial)
Wrestling: 3:30-5:30pm

Saturday, November 18
Girls Varsity Hockey: 2:10-4:00pm
Boys Varsity Hockey: 5:00-7:00pm
Girls Varsity Basketball: 10:00am-12:00pm (Memorial)
Boys Varsity Basketball: 10:00am-12:00pm (Alumni)
Wrestling: 10:00-12:00pm

Sunday, November 19: No Sports

Monday, November 20
Girls Varsity Hockey: 4:00-5:20pm
Boys Varsity Hockey: 4:00-6:00pm
Girls Varsity Basketball: 3:30-5:30pm (Memorial)
Boys Varsity Basketball: 3:30-5:30pm (Alumni)
Wrestling: 3:30-5:30pm
Skiing: 3:30-4:30pm (Fitness Center)
Swimming: 5:00-6:30pm (Canton)

Tuesday, November 21
Girls Varsity Hockey: 4:00-5:20pm
Boys Varsity Hockey: 4:00-6:00pm
Boys Varsity Basketball: 3:30-5:30pm (Memorial)
Wrestling: 3:30-5:30pm

Wednesday, November 22 & Thursday, November 23: No Sports

Friday, November 24
Boys Varsity Hockey: 3:00-5:00pm
Girls Varsity Basketball: TBA @ Turkey Tipoff
Boys Varsity Basketball: 1:00-3:00pm (Memorial)
Wrestling: 1:00-3:00pm

Saturday, November 25
Girls Varsity Hockey: 2:10-4:00pm
Boys Varsity Hockey: 10:00am @ Rivers (s)
Girls Varsity Basketball: TBA @ Turkey Tipoff
Boys Varsity Basketball: 10:00am v CATS (s) (Memorial)
Wrestling: 10:00am-12:00pm

Athletic Department Staff

Athletic Department Staff & Coaches Contact Information

You can also find all coaches' contact information on each team's page.

Athletic DirectorRick Foresteire P '19, '21rforesteire@thayer.org781.664.2247
Middle School Athletic DirectorJohn Reidjreid@thayer.org781.664.2289
Associate Athletic DirectorKristin Parnellkparnell@thayer.org781.664.2246
Assistant Athletic DirectorKevin Steuerksteuer@thayer.org 781.664.2327
Head Athletic TrainerEllen Malloyemalloy@thayer.org781.664.2273
Athletic TrainerGarett Butkussgbutkuss@thayer.org781.664.2244
Athletic TrainerAnne Lallyalally@thayer.org781.664.2250
Equipment ManagerAnnMarie Leonard P '03, '06aleonard@thayer.org781.664.2234
Strength & Conditioning CoachSophie Browne '04sbrowne@thayer.org781.664.2245

Fall Sports - Upper School Coaches / After School Activities
FootballJeff Toussaint '82jtoussaint@thayer.org781.664.2333
Field HockeyAlison Souleasoule@thayer.org781.664.2324
Boys' SoccerJim Felixjfelix@thayer.org
Girls' SoccerNick RugnettaNickRugnetta@FCBoston.org
Boys' Cross CountryJoe Pelletierjpelletier@thayer.org781.664.2228
Girls' Cross CountryJeff Browne P'04, '05jbrowne@thayer.org781.664.2237
VolleyballCallie Schneidercschneider@thayer.org781.664.2233
Crew - InstructionalEmma Taylor '12etaylor@thayer.org
Tennis - InstructionalTBA
Fitness Skills,
Strength & Conditioning
Sophie Browne '04sbrowne@thayer.org781.664.2245
ManagingKristin Parnellkparnell@thayer.org781.664.2246

Winter Sports - Upper School Coaches
Boys' HockeyTony Amonte '89, P '16, '18, '19, '23aamonte@thayer.org781.664.2505
Girls' HockeyBrian Cibellibcibelli@thayer.org 781.664.2326
Boys' BasketballBrandon Odom '04bodom@thayer.org781.664.2229
Girls' BasketballWilliam O'Dwyer '02wodwyer@thayer.org781.664.2332
Co-Ed SkiingBryan Morrisseybmorrissey@lmhspc.com
Co-Ed WrestlingBobby Lewisr1lewis@comcast.net
Co-Ed SwimmingSamantha Taylorsmtaylor029@gmail.com
Co-Ed DivingBrooks Donnellybdonnelly@thayer.org781.664.2287
GymnasticsJoan McDonoughjog1983@comcast.net

Spring Sports - Upper School Coaches
BaseballRick Foresteire P '19, '21rforesteire@thayer.org781.664.2247
SoftballLaura McDonough
lmcd326@gmail.com
Boys' LacrosseStewart Curranstewran@me.com781.389.0407
Girls' LacrosseAnni Zukauskas '94azukauskas@thayer.org781.664.2295
Co-Ed Track & FieldJeff Browne P '04, '05jbrowne@thayer.org781.664.2237
Co-Ed CrewEmma Taylor '12etaylor@thayer.org
Girls' TennisCathy Turpelcturpel@thayer.org781.664.2255
Boys' TennisMike DavisMADGALI2000@yahoo.com781.883.9044
Co-Ed GolfAndrew Gibsonagibson@thayer.org781.664.2285

Spring Sports - Middle School Coaches
BaseballRich Iskrariskra@thayer.org
SoftballAngela Toussaintatoussaint@thayer.org
Boys' LacrosseMatt Ghidenmghiden@thayer.org
Girls' LacrosseAlison Souleasoule@thayer.org
Co-Ed TennisMike DavisMADGALI2000@yahoo.com781.883.9044
Co-Ed GolfJim Felixjfelix921@yahoo.com
Co-Ed Track & FieldTom Chiaritchiari@thayer.org

Powered by Finalsite